Special Board Meeting, April 29, 2019 at 6:00 p.m.

The special meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Board President D. Emling. Roll Call: P. Daly, D. Emling, J. Hastings, J. Powers, D. Ruder, S. Sullivan, D. Ruder, Supt. Decman, reporter from the Herscher Pilot and other visitors.

Pledge of Allegiance.

A motion was made by D. Ruder and was seconded by J. Hastings to adopt the County Clerks' canvass and certification of votes cast at the April 2, 2019, nonpartisan election of the Board of Education and winners of the election. P. Daly, aye; D. Emling, aye; J. Hastings, aye, J. Powers, aye; L. Rewerts, aye; D. Ruder, aye; S. Sullivan, aye.

Ayes 7 Nays 0

A motion was made by D. Ruder and was seconded by J. Powers to approve the minutes from previous meeting(s): April 8, 2019 @ 6:30 p.m. – Regular Executive/Closed Session; April 8, 2019 @ 7:00 p.m. – Regular/Open, as recommended. P. Daly, aye; D. Emling, aye; J. Hastings, aye, J. Powers, aye; L. Rewerts, aye; D. Ruder, aye; S. Sullivan, aye.

Ayes 7 Nays 0

There was a recognition of members leaving the Board: David Emling

D. Emling appointed Supt., Dr. Decman as President Pro Tem.

Jason Hastings, Jacqueline Reick and Sally Sullivan were sworn in as members of the Herscher Community Unit School District No. 2 Board of Education.

Reorganization of the Board:

A motion was made by D. Ruder and was seconded by L. Rewerts to nominate and elect S. Sullivan as President of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2021 election.

Nominations were closed. After a 7-0 vote for S. Sullivan, **Sally Sullivan was named the President** of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2021 election.

A motion was made by D. Ruder and was seconded by J. Hastings to nominate and elect P. Daly as Vice President of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2021 election.

Nominations were closed. After a 7-0 vote for P. Daly, **Pat Daly was named the Vice President** of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2021 election.

A motion was made by J. Powers and was seconded by L. Rewerts to nominate and elect J. Hastings as Secretary of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2021 election.

Nominations were closed. After a 7-0 vote for J. Hastings, **Jason Hastings was named the Secretary** of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2021 election.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed J. Hastings as Board Representative to the Illinois Association of School Boards. S. Sullivan was named alternate.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed J. Reick as Board Representative to the Kankakee Area Career Center. L. Rewerts was named alternate.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed J. Powers and P. Daly to the Budget Planning Committee.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed P. Daly and D. Ruder to the Procurement Committee.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed th	ne official depositories of District monies:
State Bank of Herscher	Illinois School District Liquid Asset Fund
Peoples Bank	Certificate of Deposit Account Registry Service (CDARS)
Midland States Bank	Campus State Bank
Municipal Bonds, as approved	First Trust Bank
Homestar Bank	Municipal Trust & Savings Bank
There was a brief discussion regarding Board Member training.	
After a brief discussion, it was decided to no longer hold a Board Dinner going forward.	
A motion to adjourn was made at 6:24 p L. Rewerts, aye; D. Ruder, aye; S. Sullivan	o.m. P. Daly, aye; D. Emling, aye; J. Hastings, aye, J. Powers, aye; a, aye.
Ayes 7	Nays 0

President, S. Sullivan

Secretary, J. Hastings