Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Herscher CUSD #2

Main Navigation



Ajax Loading Image




Senior of the Month - Two $100 awards are offered each month during the school year, one from the State Bank of Herscher in conjunction with The Herscher Foundation and the other one from a local business or community member(s).  Deadline: the 5th of the month following the month you are applying for (i.e. October 5th is the deadline for September Senior of the Month)


Herscher High School, along with the Community Unit School District #2  Board of Education, has established a partnership with the Community Foundation of Kankakee River Valley to streamline the local scholarship program at HHS. Utilizing one online application will allow students to be eligible for multiple scholarship awards. Click the link (APPLY NOW) to use the online application. Applications will open January 5, 2024




DEADLINE: February 28, 2024


Listed below are scholarships that you may be eligible for by completing the online application through the Community Foundation of Kankakee River Valley (this list is not all inclusive, as more scholarships may be added.)


Herscher High School Alumni Scholarship

Herscher High School Athletic Boosters Awards

Herscher High School Music Boosters Scholarships

Herscher High School Sports Fan Scholarships

Herscher Lions Award

Kent Weakley Creative Art Scholarship

Thelma and Bob Webber Scholarship


Albert A. and Elizabeth Wheeler Mau Memorial Scholarship

Caitlin Poppie Memorial Scholarship

Dr. Lawrence T. Jacobson Memorial Scholarship

Erica Lynn Paulissen Memorial Scholarship

Patricia A. Long Memorial Scholarship

Randy Lehnus Vocational Ed Memorial Scholarship

Rich Jensen Memorial Scholarship

Stacy and Chris Skarstad Memorial Scholarship

Tim Orwig Memorial Scholarships

U2CT Memorial Scholarships

Zayla Ann Mitsdarffer Memorial Scholarship


The following scholarships have a separate paper application that can be typed, printed, and turned into the high school guidance office:


Christopher Sims Memorial Scholarship - In memory of Christopher Sims, his family sponsors a four-year renewable school scholarship to a student who will be attending an Illinois Public University. The scholarship will be determined by a selection committee based on the following: Academics, Character, Citizenship, Financial Need, and School Involvement. Deadline: March 15.

Otto A. and Lucile Wagner Fritz Memorial Scholarship   - The $1000 scholarship is awarded to a student based on class rank, character, leadership, citizenship, and financial need.  This scholarship is renewable for four years. Deadline: March 15.

Wisner Scholarship   - Approximately $10,000 a year is awarded to multiple winners from the interest on the $120,000 trust fund set up after Mr. Wisner passed away in 1977.  Scholarships are based on class rank, grade point average, and primarily character, as judged by a scholarship committee within the school. Deadline: March 15.



Wisner Scholarship RENEWAL - Students can apply to renew the Wisner scholarship one-time during the scholarship cycle during their freshman year of college.  Note-The renewal scholarship amount will be a lesser amount then the original award. Deadline: March 15th. 


Other Scholarships:

Timberline TBS Scholarship - DEADLINE: January 16, 2024

Illinois School Counselor Association - Post Secondary Scholarship - DEADLINE: February 16, 2024

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Academic Scholarship Fund - DEADLINE: February 16, 2024

SBH Community Bankers Association of Illinois (CBAI) Scholarship - DEADLINE:  February 23, 2024

DKG - Delta Kappa Gamma Educators Recruitment Grant - DEADLINE: March 1, 2024

Associated Orthodontists Scholarship - DEADLINE: March 1, 2024

Kiwanis Club of Kankakee Scholarship - DEADLINE: March 1, 2024  All applications should be submitted electronically to Patty High, phigh@i-kan.org

Bonfield Lions Scholarship - DEADLINE March 1, 2024

John Locke Memorial Scholarship - Students with a B average or above and a Varsity letter winner. DEADLINE: March 1, 2024

Ethan Allen Johnson and Caroline H. Johnson Trust Scholarship - DEADLINE: March 1, 2024
Zonta International - Women in Public Affairs Awards - DEADLINE: March 1, 2024
Illinois Heartland Decorative Artists - National Society of Decorative Painters Scholarship - DEADLINE: March 9, 2024
Fred Drendel Memorial Scholarship - Agriculture - DEADLINE: March 29, 2024
Kankakee County Farm Bureau Scholarship - DEADLINE: March 31, 2024  Teacher Recommendation - link  Character Recommendation - link 
American Legion Scholarships - Various awards/Various deadlines

Kankakee Federation of Labor Community Services Scholarship - DEADLINE: May 1, 2024

Kankakee Federation of Labor Community - William Lovell Scholarship - DEADLINE: May 1, 2024

First Financial Bank - Arvetta M. Lewis Scholarship Fund - DEADLINE: May 15, 2024